Every figure here comes from a document we opened: the GSA Advantage catalog for contract 47QSMS25D00AL, iManage's Cloud Services Agreement and Support Services Terms dated July 10, 2026, archived copies of the same agreement from 2018 to 2023, county and city procurement records, and federal award data. We build CaseAgent, which is not a document management system, so nothing below ranks our product against iManage.
How much does iManage cost per user?
On the only public price list, iManage Work in the Cloud costs $53.80 to $89.87 per user a month, depending on edition. The list belongs to Harbor Government Solutions, the one seller of iManage on the federal GSA schedule, and it is current as of a supplement effective April 14, 2026. State and local governments can buy from it too.
| Edition | Per user a month | Per user a year | Storage in the description | 25 users for a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $53.80 | $645.60 | 20 GB | $16,140 |
| Professional | $72.14 | $865.68 | 25 GB | $21,642 |
| Enterprise | $89.87 | $1,078.44 | 30 GB | $26,961 |
| 1 to 25 users | $67.10 | $805.20 | Not stated | $20,130 |
Three cautions travel with those numbers. They are government net prices set by a reseller, with the schedule's fee already inside them, so they are a ceiling for an agency and only a reference point for a firm. The catalog's terms say quantity discounts are "None" and that a buyer "may request a price reduction at any time before placing an order". And the yearly and 25 user columns are our arithmetic, twelve months at the listed rate, before any add-on.
Still, a printed reference beats a range with no source. If a partner quotes your firm $95 a user for the Professional edition, you now know a federal office can order the same edition for $72.14.
A real partner quote to a small law office
One commercial quote is also on the public record. In April 2020 an iManage partner quoted the City Attorney's Office of North Port, Florida, which was shopping for a 5 user system. The quote form shows four lines: iManage Work licenses with 20 GB per user, 10 of them at $60 per user a month, $7,200 a year. An implementation fee of 15 days at $1,200 a day, $18,000, "not including data migration". Tier 1 annual support covering 20 incidents a year, $3,000. And an optional extra terabyte of storage at $400 a month. The city tabulated it as $28,200 in the first year and $10,200 each year after, and bought a competing system.
That $60 is six years old, and it sits between the two lower government editions today. The more useful facts are structural: the license count was 10 for an office of five, and services were two and a half times the first year of licenses.
What do iManage add-ons cost?
The base seat is rarely the whole order. The same catalog prices the modules a firm usually ends up adding, and storage is the one that grows by itself.
| Add-on | Listed price | Unit in the listing |
|---|---|---|
| Extra document storage, 1 TB | $358.89 | Per pack a month |
| Extra document storage, 500 GB | $179.55 | Per pack, period not stated |
| Work Drive | $5.04 | Per user a month |
| Threat Manager | $5.04 | Per user a month |
| Security Policy Manager | $5.04, $6.05 or $6.85 | Per user, by tier |
| Records Manager | $5.64, $12.90 or $15.31 | Per user, by tier |
| OCR service for Work | $6.45 | Per user a month |
| Sandbox environment | $358.89 | A month |
| Additional regional data center | $1,345.49 | A month |
| Customer managed encryption key | $897.13 up to 500 seats, $1,794.06 up to 1,000 | A month |
| iManage Share, 100 GB | $404.23 | Unlimited users, period not stated |
Run a realistic stack and the seat moves. Professional at $72.14 with Threat Manager, the middle Security Policy Manager tier and OCR comes to $89.68 per user a month on this list, which for 25 users is $26,904 a year before storage packs.
Is iManage AI included in the subscription?
No. iManage's own product page says "Mailbox Assistant, AI Services, and Ask iManage will not be included in a standard cloud subscription and will need to be purchased as additional products." None of the three has a published price, and none appears on the GSA list.
The AI Services Addendum, also dated July 10, 2026, leaves room for metering. Section 2.5 says the AI services "may be subject to usage limits, rate limits, consumption limits, quotas, included usage allowances, overage charges, usage-based fees". The main agreement says the same about API and MCP server use, with 30 days of notice before a consumption price changes. Ask for the allowance and the overage rate in writing, because a usage line is the part of an order that a seat count cannot predict. We covered how that plays out at other vendors in our Harvey AI pricing breakdown.
What have public law offices paid for iManage?
Government legal departments have to publish what they spend, and three of them give a multi-year picture. None states a user count, so these are totals, and no per user price can be worked out from them.
Alameda County Counsel, California
A 2022 staff report asked the board to approve a three year iManage cloud license "for a not-to-exceed amount of $207,630", because "the current iManage system has reached end of life and must be upgraded". The migration and training contract with the implementation partner was larger than the license, at up to $220,750, and the report put the whole project at $543,380 with contingency and county IT support. The 2026 renewal asks for $246,360.96 for the next three years plus $73,800 for partner support and training. That is $82,120 a year against a prior ceiling of $69,210, or 18.7 percent more, with no word on whether seats or modules changed.
Manhattan District Attorney, New York
The City Record shows four consecutive annual awards for the office's iManage subscription and maintenance, each to a reseller.
-
2021$106,720.64
-
2022$111,744.85
-
2023$116,194.68
-
2024$118,925.73
Year over year, up 4.7 percent, then 4.0, then 2.4.
US Department of Justice offices
Published federal contract awards show the Office of the Inspector General paying $21,680.15 for "iManage subscription and support" in each of the last two fiscal years, flat, after $22,819.84 the year before. The Antitrust Division paid $80,527.23 for a year of Work 10 software maintenance, and the Civil Division obligated $141,479.40 for iManage professional services in September 2026. The pattern across all three buyers is the same: the license is one line, and partner services are a second line of similar size.
Does iManage cap renewal price increases?
Not any more. The Cloud Services Agreement dated October 11, 2018 said "No increase in fees for any Renewal Term shall exceed 5%" of the prior term's fees, and the September 16, 2021 version kept that cap. The versions dated October 1, 2022, January 1, 2023 and July 10, 2026 contain no cap and no renewal pricing clause at all.
We have not seen this change reported anywhere, and it matters more than the seat rate. Under the current paper, the renewal price is whatever the order says, and if the order says nothing, nothing limits it. The on-premises documents still carry the old protection: the Support Services Terms say the renewal rate "will be the previous year's rate plus an increase not to exceed five percent (5%)". A firm moving from on-premises to cloud is therefore giving up a written cap unless it negotiates one back into the order.
What does the iManage Cloud Services Agreement commit you to?
The agreement is public and 40 pages long. These are the clauses that decide what the quote really costs over its life.
| Clause | What it says | What it means for the budget |
|---|---|---|
| 4.2, Cancellation | Orders "are non-cancelable and all payments made are non-refundable" unless the agreement or order says otherwise. | The term on the order is the commitment. Leaving early does not stop the invoices. |
| 7.3, Renewal | Each order renews "for additional successive one-year terms" unless either side gives written notice "at least 60 days prior" to expiry. | Put the notice date in the calendar the day you sign. It was 30 days until at least 2023. |
| 7.3, Seats | The customer "may not downgrade its Cloud Services subscription or reduce the number of Authorized Users" during a term. | Buy for the headcount you have. A layoff or a departing practice group still pays to the end of the term. |
| 7.5(e), Acceleration | If iManage terminates under the agreement, all fees to the end of the order term "become immediately due". | A payment dispute can turn the remaining term into one bill. |
| 4.5, Late payment | Suspension 30 days after written notice of an undisputed overdue amount, plus a late fee of up to 1.5 percent a month. | Dispute an invoice in writing, and promptly, to keep it out of this clause. |
| 4.8, Partners | "If the Customer orders from a Partner, the Partner will set the Customer's pricing and payment terms for that Order". | Two partners can quote the same firm two prices. Get more than one quote. |
| Exhibit A, Uptime | 99.9 percent a month per region, with credits of 10 to 100 percent of a month of fees as the sole remedy. | Credits are small next to a day of lost work. They are not a refund right. |
| Exhibit B 8.2, Exit | Data is kept "for 90 days after expiration or termination" for extraction, then deleted within 30 days. | No exit fee is stated, and no migration help either. Budget the export as a project. |
| 10.2, Liability | Capped at the greater of the prior 12 months of fees or $50,000, with carve-outs. | Check this against what your malpractice carrier expects from a document vendor. |
Is there a minimum number of users for iManage?
No iManage document states one, and the buyer guides that repeat a "minimum of about 10 users" cite nothing. The evidence is mixed. The one public partner quote, from 2020, priced 10 licenses for an office that needed five. The GSA catalog points the other way: it has a dedicated rate for 1 to 25 users at $67.10, and its only minimum is a $100 order.
What is true is that iManage sells to law firms through partners, and a partner decides which deals are worth its implementation team's time. So a five lawyer firm should ask the partner two questions in writing: how many licenses the quote assumes, and what the project fee is. Either can act as the real minimum.
How much does iManage implementation cost?
iManage publishes no implementation price, and neither does any partner we checked. The ranges on comparison sites, $10,000 to $25,000 or more by firm size, come from one competitor's page that credits unnamed "firms and consultants". The documented figures are the public ones above: $18,000 for 15 partner days at a 5 user office, before data migration, up to $220,750 for one county law office's migration and training, $38,808 for a federal office's system upgrade, and consultant contracts of $300,000 and $446,000 at the New York City Law Department.
Those are large legal departments with years of documents, so do not read them as a small firm quote. Read them as proof that services can match or exceed the license, and ask every partner for a fixed price with the document count, email volume and number of training sessions written into it.
Where the iManage prices you see online come from
| Figure | Where it appears | What stands behind it |
|---|---|---|
| $53.80, $72.14, $89.87 per user a month | GSA Advantage, contract 47QSMS25D00AL | A dated government price list. The only primary source. |
| $50 to $75 per user a month, 10 user minimum | A competing vendor's pricing guide, repeated by several comparison sites | "Reported pricing from firms and consultants", none named. The range does bracket the two lower GSA editions. The minimum has no source. |
| Pro $39, Business $50 to $75 | An identity management vendor's integration page | Plan names iManage does not use. Its editions are Essentials, Professional and Enterprise. |
| $20 per seat | LawSites, February 2, 2016 | A launch report on iManage Cloud: subscriptions "start at $20 per seat and go down based on volume". Ten years old, billing period not stated. |
| £30 to £50 per user a month | A UK cloud comparison article | No source given, and a UK channel price in any case. |
Is iManage more expensive than NetDocuments?
It depends on which document you read, and the two answers point in opposite directions. On the government price lists iManage is the cheaper seat: Essentials is $53.80 and Professional $72.14 per user a month, while NetDocuments document management is listed at $924.21 a year for 10 to 49 users, which is $77.02 a month, and its Core bundle at $1,516.65 a year.
In the one small office procurement where both were quoted, iManage cost far more. The 2020 North Port tabulation put NetDocuments with a partner at $8,172 in the first year and $4,500 after, against $28,200 and $10,200 for iManage. The seat rates were close. The 10 license count and the $18,000 setup made the difference. Our NetDocuments pricing page follows that same account through its 2025 renewal and its 2026 AI add-on, and NetDocuments vs iManage compares the two beyond price.
Six lines to get on an iManage order before you sign
- A cap on each renewal increase. The standard paper had 5 percent until 2021. Ask for it back by name.
- The right to reduce users at each anniversary, since section 7.3 forbids it mid term.
- The edition, the storage allowance per user and the price of the next storage pack.
- Every AI product as its own line, with the included usage and the overage rate.
- The partner's implementation fee as a fixed price, with scope, and the hourly rate for anything outside it.
- The export format and who performs the export if you leave inside the 90 day window.
iManage pricing, other questions
Does iManage publish its pricing?
No. imanage.com has no pricing page, and the Wayback Machine index shows no archived product price page on the domain at any point. The one public price list is a reseller catalog on GSA Advantage, which prints iManage Work in the Cloud at $53.80, $72.14 and $89.87 per user a month for government buyers.
Can I cancel iManage Cloud before the term ends?
Not for a refund. Section 4.2 of the iManage Cloud Services Agreement says all orders, including their payment obligations, are non-cancelable and payments are non-refundable unless the agreement or the order says otherwise. Section 7.3 also bars reducing the number of users or downgrading during a term.
How much notice do I need to give to stop an iManage renewal?
At least 60 days before the current term expires, in writing, under section 7.3 of the July 2026 agreement. Without it the order renews for another one year term. Versions of the agreement up to January 2023 asked for 30 days, so an older calendar reminder may now be too late.
What happens to our documents if we leave iManage?
You can extract them yourself during the term, and iManage keeps customer data for 90 days after expiration or termination so you can finish, then deletes it within 30 days. The agreement states no exit fee. It also promises no migration help, which would be professional services under a separate statement of work.
Is iManage on premises still sold?
Yes, it is still on the GSA list: a perpetual Professional user license at $1,390.43 and Enterprise at $1,737.03, with annual support at $291.99 and $365.14, which is 21 percent of the license. iManage ended support for the older DeskSite and FileSite clients in 2023, and says 78 percent of its customers are now on its cloud.
What uptime does iManage commit to?
At least 99.9 percent a month per region. Below that, the service credit is 10 percent of a month of fees, rising to 25 percent under 99.0, 50 percent under 98.0 and 100 percent under 95.0. Credits are the sole remedy, although you may terminate if availability is under 99.0 percent in three months out of six.
A document management system is the firm's file room: versions, security, retention, email filing. It does not read the file. If the reason you are pricing iManage is that lawyers cannot find or digest what is in a matter, part of that problem is storage and part of it is work. Our guide to legal document management software covers the storage side for every firm size, and the case management software pricing hub prices the platforms that bundle documents with matters. CaseAgent handles the work side.
One price for the whole firm
Put an agent to work on the documents you already store
CaseAgent reads each matter file, builds chronologies with citations back to the page, drafts letters, pleadings and discovery responses and keeps court deadlines current. Solo $149 a month, Firm $399 for up to 5 users, Practice $899 for up to 15, Enterprise $1,798 for up to 45, or $74, $199, $449 and $899 a month billed yearly. No setup fee and no per user charge.