One disclosure first: we build Caseagent, an AI-native case management tool, so Clio is a competitor of ours in the broader market. Clio does not pay us, and the figures below were read off Clio's own pricing page in August 2026 rather than copied from pricing trackers, several of which still carry the retired plan names. Clio is a mature, well-supported platform that tens of thousands of US firms run happily. The goal here is simply to show what it costs and where the real bill lands, so you can budget honestly.
Clio pricing plans in 2026
Clio sells four practice management tiers. The entry rate is per user per month; Clio does not publish rates for the tiers above it, and does not state a trial length on the pricing page, though it does market a free trial.
| Plan | Price (annual) | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $49/user/mo (the only rate Clio publishes) | Solos and brand-new firms needing core matters, time tracking, and billing |
| Core | Not published; quote only | Growing small firms needing the client portal, document templates, and integrations |
| Signature | Not published; quote only | Established firms wanting unlimited e-signatures, advanced reporting, and priority support |
| Elite | Not published; quote only | Firms wanting full practice management plus intake automation and AI drafting |
Treat $49 as a floor, not a quote. It is the entry rate for the smallest plan, and Clio's own page describes higher tiers as adding more automation, reporting and workflow depth without saying what that costs. When a vendor stops publishing mid tier prices, the number you eventually pay is set in the negotiation rather than on the website, so ask for the rate at your seat count, the renewal escalator, and what implementation costs, all in writing.
The add-ons that raise the real bill
Clio's list price covers practice management. Several things most firms want cost extra on top of it, which is why the average paid bill runs higher than the sticker.
- AI: not an extra. Clio states that AI is included on Core and above as part of the plan rather than as a separate add-on, so the only thing that decides whether you get it is which tier you buy.
- Clio Grow (intake and CRM): lead intake and client relationship management is a separate product, listed on Clio's pricing page as an optional add-on with no published standalone rate. If intake is a real part of your spend, compare it against the rest of the market in our guide to law firm CRM software.
- Payment processing: Clio Payments takes a per-transaction cut, so the more you collect through it, the more it adds over the year.
- Court-rules calendaring: automated rule-based deadline engines are typically third-party integrations with their own subscription rather than a native line item.
Because none of those add-ons carry a published price either, the only reliable way to know your all-in per seat cost is to have Clio quote the base plan and every add-on you intend to switch on, in the same document. Firms routinely find the real figure lands well above the $49 entry rate they had in mind when they started shopping. For how the whole category prices, see our legal case management software cost guide.
Is Clio worth the price?
For firms that value ecosystem depth, yes. Clio's clearest advantage over cheaper tools is its integration catalog, which lists more than 250 apps including deep ties to QuickBooks Online, Microsoft 365, and Google Workspace. Its trust accounting and financial reporting are among the strongest in the category, which matters for multi-lawyer firms that live and die by clean IOLTA reconciliation. You pay a premium, but you rarely outgrow it.
Where the price stings is at the small end. A true solo who mostly needs matters, a calendar, and simple invoicing can feel like they are subsidizing enterprise features they never touch. That is exactly why comparison shopping matters: cheaper platforms like MyCase start lower and cover the essentials cleanly. Our Clio vs MyCase comparison and the wider Clio alternatives roundup lay out the finalists.
One practical note on getting your money's worth: Clio is billing software as much as case software, and the firms that profit from it are the ones that actually collect on the invoices it generates. If receivables pile up, the software's ROI erodes no matter which tier you are on. Practices that struggle with slow-paying clients often pair their platform with a tool that chases every unpaid invoice automatically so the billing work Clio captures actually turns into cash.
Clio pricing, common questions
How much does Clio cost per user?
Clio publishes a starting price of $49 USD per user per month and nothing else. There are four plans, named Starter, Core, Signature and Elite, and as of August 2026 Clio does not list rates for the three above Starter. AI is included from Core up with no separate fee, but add-ons including Clio Grow and payment processing are unpriced publicly, so the all-in figure has to come from a written quote.
Does Clio charge extra for AI features?
No, not any more. Clio's pricing FAQ now states plainly that AI is included on Core and above and comes as part of the plan rather than as a separate add-on. So there is no AI line item to quote. What you are choosing is the tier: the entry Starter plan carries no AI at all, and everything above it does.
Is there a cheaper alternative to Clio?
Yes, and the useful difference is that they still publish their rates. Verified in August 2026, MyCase lists $50, $100 and $130 per user per month billed annually, and PracticePanther lists $49, $69, $89 and $114. Both are quotable without a sales call, which makes budgeting easier. The tradeoff is a smaller integration catalog and, in some cases, lighter reporting.
Does Clio offer a free trial?
Yes. Clio markets a free trial, and its pricing page is titled around starting one, but the page does not state the trial length, so confirm the current term before you plan around it. However long it runs, a trial is enough time to load a few matters and see whether the workflow fits, and not enough to judge trust accounting and reporting at volume.
Paying per seat for software that waits to be used?
Caseagent is an AI agent that lives inside the matter: it reads new filings, drafts documents, researches case law with citations, and tracks every deadline it finds. It is priced per firm rather than per user.